1. Home
  2. Uncategorized
  3. Dozing and Driving Illegal in New Jersey

Dozing and Driving Illegal in New Jersey

Originally Published in Trailer Life Magazine

Under a new law, known as Maggie’s Law on New Jersey’s books,
driving while drowsy will make you a criminal. This new law makes it a
crime punishable with 10 years in prison and a $100,000 fine.

The law is named for a 20-year-old college student killed in a
1997 accident, by the driver of a van who had fallen asleep. The law,
the first of its kind in the nation, is aimed at an estimated 51 percent
of motorists who are said to be drowsy drivers.

The Best of RV Magazine Delivered to your Inbox

Subscribe to RV.com and RV Magazine

Subscriptions starting at only $14.97 per year.

Members save by only paying $9.97 per year!

logo

Please login or register to view archived articles.

Sign In

Do not have an account? Create New Account

Menu